Father’s day

This goes out to
The fathers without children
The mothers without husbands
The children without parents
And the fathers that
don’t fit the statistics…
You are who keep me going.
My father was a phantom
My mother wasn’t strong enough to do both jobs
My sister raised her kids
And her siblings
And I feel like I
Missed out.
But I strive forward despite
My shortcomings in life
And aim high, focus my sights
On doing for my children, the things I know as right
Will never abandon their mother, regardless if she’s my wife
The day I speak this falsely, remove my tongue by knife
So I thank those in my life
That steered me from left to right
And I dedicate each letter I produce, every word I write
To you all on this night.
Happy father’s day

Leave a Reply

