Whispers of a Broken Mind and a Shattered Soul

Self doubt seeps in
Evicting all the pride
No room for more than one
In the cage that is my mind

Plan after plan discarded after time
Another failure I become, fallen by the wayside
Potential misplaced and in this race I’m
So far back I can’t see who I’m behind
Stuck in the blocks, weighed down by my lies
Each time I spit one out, a little pride dies
Besides, those I was beside have become flyer
They soar to their goals, higher and higher
I tire of this cage being my attire
The fall becomes a spectacle as I reach for a wire
Or rope, or belt… and then I conspire
Desires aren’t required for the mind at this point
No check, no bottle, no vagina, no joint
I get moist with tears
as I choice these fears
I meant choose right there
I might lose my hair
As my mistakes shine clear
I meant tool not fear
I fear my resolve
My problems they don’t solve
I wish I’d just dissolve
Into a puddle so I can’t be recalled
Nothing left to recognize my face
Once I fall on it in this race
The stress I can’t take
Hear my voice as I shake
and scream as failure is all that I taste
All my talents are nothing, “nothing but a waste”
Echoes through my mind, as my mind breaks

Pieces hit the bottom, rocked by the wind
Weakness is the title, the trophy I win
I’d call it quits now, nothing more than a whim
Say goodbye to what you knew as my soul grows dim

4 Responses to “Whispers of a Broken Mind and a Shattered Soul”

  1. heartfelt words,
    very lovely done!

  2. “Self doubt seeps in
    Evicting all the pride
    No room for more than one
    In the cage that is my mind”

    Self doubt, it is all that remains
    The cage is, shall be with crimson stains….

    Well done! 🙂

  3. Good poem encompassing those emotions and feelings dealing with self-doubt…well said.

Leave a Reply

