The Lessons I’ve Learned are Blessings That Burn

To speak of my lessons
Looking over skin that’s been singed
I am blessed with the gift of poetry
Where do I begin?

At a loss for words
So you teach me a new one
I come across your curves
And I learn how to move em

Love is what I learned
Your heart is what I yearn
And my thirst for knowledge
Will never be clenched by a college

I need to learn how
Or why or whatever
Please be my teacher
Teach my heart to be clever

And fluent and smart
And worth what I want
Stop sending me these quizzes
This fake love is just a taunt

I want a midterm
Or final so I can show
That love is what I have
And love is what I know

But right now I’m lost
Spelling bees make me stumble
I’ve paid for my acts
And the cost left me broken, mind in a jungle

Put so much effort in
Got nothing to show for it now
And you see smiley faces
I’m not happy, I feel like a clown

You made me your fool
Sit in the corner in a dunce cap
You’ve brought my emotions out
So now I must rap

And write and whine
and cry and complain
Your style of teaching is mind boggling
It’s driving me insane

So now I’m driving to a range
Where there are targets and guns
Driving to arrange
My demise, how fun

Because I set my sights on a goal
And still it eludes me
With love I am ignorant
Why will you not choose me?

Is the class on love AP?
Is there a way to test in?
Or have I been destined from the start?
A failure as soon as I begin?

Began or begun?
I’ve gotten dumber not smarter
The more I try to learn love
The more finding love gets harder

4 Responses to “The Lessons I’ve Learned are Blessings That Burn”

  1. Began or begun?
    I’ve gotten dumber not smarter
    The more I try to learn love
    The more finding love gets harder

    true, well said…

  2. Kay Salady Says:

    A nice rap with good flow.

  3. I really enjoy your writing, there’s talent here. You seem to be able to speak of things others can’t express, and that impresses me.

  4. blessed with talent in poetry.

    lovely confidence, thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

