Dead Roses

Dead Roses
Life is given, through the tears we shed

Watering the roses, drowning them until dead

And the sky bleeds, as my heart leaks red

Broken and shattered, like the brain in my head

I can’t sustain the facade that things are okay

I can’t keep lying as the salty tears kiss my face

I can’t keep trying to run from fears that displace

My pride and my spirit, from everything that I am

I list the things that I can’t because I’m afraid of what I can

This way I remain excused and absent from failures touch

Because my resolve is so weak and my resiliency isn’t enough

I’ve lost and loved loss just from familiarity and time

It’s my partner forever, and its forced me into crime

And sin and death, and my souls petals are wilting and worn

I’m smothered by a concrete tomb and enveloped by my thorns

Self inflicted wounds make me see all these things differently

And I know you’re gone forever so these rose tints taint me visually…

So I’m stuck in a place on an island with a bouquet of disdain

All alone but still content because my tears are still rain

That help the roses grow, and I know the joy and pain that they may bring

But I’m choking on life as I force out the words, so I can sing..

  
La Vie en Rose 

“Hold me close and hold me fast

The magic spell you cast

This is la vie en rose

When you kiss me, heaven sighs

And though I close my eyes

I see la vie en rose

When you press me to your heart

I’m in a world apart

A world where roses bloom

And when you speak, angels, sing from above

Everyday words seem

To turn into love songs

Give your heart and soul to me

And life will always be

La vie en rose”

Leave a Reply

